This Month

SEPTEMBER

The pattern of church services changes in September, to reflect the greater freedoms we now enjoy. All the services mentioned below will take place in the church.
The Friendly Club is a new feature and runs on Thursdays.
Everyone is very welcome to join and have some fun. There is a flat fee of £2 on entrance to cover unlimited tea or coffee and biscuits.
The Friendly Club & Café is the initiative of the Wivenhoe Dementia Support Group in partnership with the PCC of St Mary’s Church.

Sunday Club will start again in September, on Sunday mornings 10.30.
A new weekly service has been introduced: Community Morning Prayer. Each Tuesday the church will be open for half an hour for a moment of peace and reflection, after the hectic school run or just as a start to your day.


Wednesday 1 September
7.07 pm Midweek Reflection

Thursday 2 September
2-4.30 pm Friendly Club

Friday 3 September
7.30 pm A Sea Shanty Extravaganza
Tickets £6 on the door, includes a glass of wine/soft drink.
Doors open at 7 pm

Sunday 5 September
8 am Holy Communion
10.30 am Family Eucharist

Tuesday 7 September
9.09 am Community morning prayer

Wednesday 8 September
7.07 pm Midweek Reflection

Thursday 9 September
2 – 4.30 pm Friendly Club

Friday 10 September
Today Kevin and Sharon will be married in St Mary’s church
We wish them much joy on the day and blessings on their married life together.

Sunday 12 September
10.30 am Family Eucharist

Tuesday 14 September
9.09 am Community morning prayer

Wednesday 15 September
7.07 pm Midweek Reflection

Thursday 16 September
2 – 4.30 pm Friendly Club

Saturday 18 September
Roman River concerts in the church
1 pm, Schubert songs
6 pm, cello & piano concert
See the post on the News page and also here for ticket details

Sunday 19 September
8 am Holy Communion
10.30 am Morning Prayer

Tuesday 21 September
9.09 am Community morning prayer

Wednesday 22 September
7.07 pm Midweek Reflection

Thursday 23 September
2 – 4.30 pm Friendly Club

Saturday 25 September
10 am – 2.30 pm Celebration Weekend
Live music, refreshments and stalls, like at the June Market.
Also SCRUFTS event for dog owners

Sunday 26 September
10.30 am Service of blessing of the church and annexe
with Rt Revd Roger Morris, bishop of Colchester.
Followed at 12 noon by the official opening of the annexe,
cutting of the cake and lifting a glass.

Tuesday 28 September
9.09 am Community morning prayer

Wednesday 29 September
7.07 pm Midweek Reflection

Thursday 30 September
2 – 4.30 pm Friendly club