St Mary’s postcode for SatNav purposes is CO7 9BD
Parking alongside the church is usually impossible
A free public carpark is located in the High Street opposite The Greyhound pub
From there, the church is an easy walk further down the road

Rev Erwin LammensRev Erwin Lammens is the Rector of St Mary’s.
Applications for Banns and Weddings may be made to the Rector.

The rectory is at
44 Belle Vue Rd
Wivenhoe CO7 9LD
Tel 822511 (day off: Friday)
On Fridays, if it is urgent, please contact one of the churchwardens (see below)

The Rector can be contacted by email on


The Revd Dr Sara Batts-Neale is the Anglican Chaplain at the University of Essex, and licensed Associate Priest at St Mary’s church.

Sara regularly leads the Sunday Services or preaches, and participates in the online services and Midweek Reflections.

Day off is on Friday.
Sara may be contacted on

Glyn StanwayGlyn Stanway is Reader at St Mary’s.

A Reader is a lay person who is licensed to preach and lead public worship.
Glyn is licensed to lead non-sacramental worship (including, in some cases, funerals), may assist in the leadership of eucharistic worship and may preach.
Glyn also leads the Tuesday afternoon Bible Study Group and may be contacted by email on  

Teresa Warren is our Sunday Club co-ordinator.

Contact her  with any questions you may have about your child attending the children’s activities taking place in the church in parallel with the morning service.


Graham WadleyGraham Wadley is organist at St. Mary’s and directs the church choir that sings at all Sunday services.

He also conducts the St. Mary’s Singers and the two choirs join forces for special musical events.|
Graham may be contacted by email on


Margaret Bigwood and Douglas McCormick are our Churchwardens
Their task has been described as one of leadership, labour and love.

Between them they perform an enormous amount of work to do with the management, maintenance and ministry at St Mary’s. They may be contacted by email on


Bonnie HillBonnie Hill is Secretary of the PCC

The secretary makes sure that proper procedure is followed, deals with letters, prepares the minutes of meetings and performs a whole host of other secretarial tasks.
St Mary’s address for correspondence is
Secretary to the PCC
16 Colchester Rd
Wivenhoe CO7 9EU
Tel 822117 or by email onwivstmarysec

St Mary’s Safeguarding Officer is Eleanor Vanner. She may be contacted on this dedicated email address:

Deirdre Gill is St Mary’s Pastoral Assistant.
She will be very happy to listen to you if you feel you have nowhere else to turn, and to be of such assistance as is possible and acceptable to you.

Deirdre is there for all in the parish of Wivenhoe – not just church-goers. See here for more information and contact details


Bill Eborn is St Mary’s TREASURER
He will answer any questions you may have about fee payments, Gift Aid or about how to set up automatic contribution payments.
Bill may be contacted on 822812 or by email on
(no cash held)


General Hiring information and fees


Jan Marks is St Mary’s Baptism officer

Get in touch with her with all enquiries about baptism, godparents, and administrative requirements.

Jan may be contacted on 824973


Sue Clement is the editor of Tidings, St Mary’s monthly publication.
Contact Sue by email with news items or stories.

Tidings accepts advertising and Sue is also the person to contact about this.
You can reach Sue by email on


Adrienne Wood is St Mary’s tower captain and organises the bellringing team.
She is the person to contact if you are interested in bellringing, or to find out about bellringing events.


Marika FootringMarika Footring is the Communications officer
She looks after Data Protection matters, digital publicity, web site, Facebook page and also maintains St Mary’s Twitter account @WivStMarys
Marika can be contacted by email on marika

Beacon House link persons Elisabeth and
Austin Baines

Christian Aid
Children’s Society
Churches Together

Gill Black 826186
Church Cleaning Coordinator Mary Jakens 822548
CMS and Namalemba correspondent Rosemary Murchie 822890
Electoral Roll Officer Vivien Eborn 822812
FOSM Lynne Horner
Pew sheet Marise King