This Month

*PLEASE refresh your browser if you looked at this page once before so as not to miss any updates made since then!*

Tuesday 2 October at 10 am
House Communion at Toad Hall, 16 Colchester Road

Tuesday 2 October at 5.45 pm
Bulb and plug plants planting in the churchyard.
There are hundreds of bulbs and plug plants to go in, so any help will be well appreciated!
Please come along to give a hand.
Imagine how the churchyard could look next spring…

Wednesday 3 October at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 4 October at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at ‘Mariners’, Rectory Hill

Friday 5 October at 7.30 pm
“Jesus’ Female Disciples: the new evidence”
This is the talk by Dr Joan Taylor which had to be postponed from last month due to the great popularity of the subject, on which Joan was invited to give talks nationwide!
So we are privileged to welcome her at St Mary’s.
Entry is free, with a retiring collection for St Mary’s church.

Sunday 7 October Harvest Festival
8 am          Holy Communion
10.30 am  All Together for Harvest, with Broomgrove Infant & Junior schools and Millfields Primary School choirs.
Your Harvest Gifts will be gratefully received for distribution on Monday to Beacon House and the Colchester Soup Kitchen.
3 pm         Cavendish Consort and Friends. Autumn concert in memory of Ron Naylor. Click here for details.

Tuesday 9 October at 2.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 12 Conway Close

Wednesday 10 October at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Saturday 13 October, 12.30 for 1 pm
A Ploughman’s Lunch to celebrate Harvest.
Ticket £10 from Lyn, Sue or Mary, or ring 823762.
Welcome drink, cheese or ham Ploughman’s, dessert, coffee & mints.
Bring your own drink if desired.

Sunday 14 October
10.30 am   Family Eucharist & Sunday Club
6 pm           Sung Evensong

Wednesday 17 October at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 18 October at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at ‘Mariners’, Rectory Hill
See here for discussion topics list.

Saturday 20 October
Silent Retreat day, in the church
As at 7 October there are still some places available for this day of silent prayer.
email janet@janetdriver.co.uk

Sunday 21 October
8 am          Holy Communion
10.30 am  Civic Service & Sunday Club
6 pm          Holy Ground

Tuesday 23 October at 2.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 12 Conway Close

Wednesday 24 October at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Saturday 27 October, 2-4 pm
Friends of St Mary’s AUTUMN FAYRE
Click here for the details

Sunday 28 October
10.30 am   Family Eucharist & Sunday Club

Wednesday 31 October
7.07 pm  Midweek Reflection. 15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all.

9-9.30 pm Candlelit mystery tour in the church. Please bring a torch! Hot drink. Free!

Thursday 1 November at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at ‘Mariners’, Rectory Hill
See here for discussion topics list.

Friday 2 November at 7.30 pm
A Feast of Music Concert.
This will feature around 50 performers from the Wivenhoe Orchestra, Comrie Singers and the Wivenhoe Recorder Consort.
They will be playing and singing music familiar to all.
Tickets £7 pp which includes a glass of wine or soft drink in the interval. They are available in advance from RSVP Gift shop (Grosvenor House, on the corner of Station Rd and High St) and at the church door. Proceeds from this concert are in aid of St Mary’s Transformation Project Appeal.

Sunday 4 November, All Saints Sunday
8 am           Holy Communion
10.30 am   All Together service
11.30 am   Nave re-ordering presentation & Survey
2 pm          Commissioning of the Mission and Ministry Partnership with the churches in Greenstead and St John’s Colchester, at St Matthew’s church, by Bishop Roger and Archdeacon Annette Cooper.

Tuesday 6 November at 10 am
House Communion at 102 Ernest Rd.

Wednesday 7 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Sunday 11 November, Remembrance Sunday
10.30 am    Family Eucharist for Remembrance Sunday and
Sunday Club.
2.30 pm     Remembrance Service followed by laying of wreaths at the War Memorial. Church remains open until 5pm for the Wivenhoe Poppy Tribute viewing and rolling presentation by the Wivenhoe History Group.
7.30 pm    St Mary’s Singers Music for Remembrance.

Tuesday 13 November at 2.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 12 Conway Close

Wednesday 14 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 15 November at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at ‘Mariners’, Rectory Hill
See here for discussion topics list.

Saturday 17 November at 3 pm
Concert by Kingsland Gospel Choir.
On their first visit they came, they sang and they conquered!
Don’t miss the repeat performance.
Tickets £6 pp.

Sunday 18 November, Second Sunday before Advent
8 am          Holy Communion
10.30 am  In Loving Memory, service for the bereaved
10.30 am  Sunday Club
3.30 pm    at Chelmsford Cathedral: Farewell service for Archdeacon Annette Cooper

Wednesday 21 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Saturday 24 November at 11.30 am
Arrival of St Nicholas at Wivenhoe Quay and
welcome event at St Mary’s church afterwards

Sunday 25 November
Sunday next before Advent, Christ the King
10.30 am   Family Eucharist & Sunday Club
6 pm           Taizé Meditation

Tuesday 27 November at 2.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 12 Conway Close

Wednesday 28 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection.
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all