This Month

Rector’s webwords for November

Wednesday 30 October at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Friday 1 November at 7 pm
Screening in church of the movie Mary Magdalene (2018).
We’re very pleased that Dr Joan Taylor will attend this evening.

Dr Joan Taylor

Dr Taylor acted as historical consultant during the making of the movie and many people will remember with pleasure her previous visits to St Mary’s. This time, she will introduce the film in the context of her research into Jesus’ Female Disciples, and also lead the Q&A session afterwards.
FREE event, with retiring collection for St Mary’s.

Sunday 3 November
8 am         Holy Communion
10.30 am All Together Sunday (with screen)
Cake boxes will be available to take home for your baking donations for St Mary’s Christmas Market. There will also be a box for gifts for St Mary’s gift stall.

Tuesday 5 November at 10 am
House Communion at 8 Spring Lane.

Wednesday 6 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 7 November at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 39 Ernest Rd

Saturday 9 November at 2 pm
Today Graham Long and Gillian White will be married at St Mary’s.
We wish them much happiness on the day and pray God’s blessing on their future life together.

Sunday 10 November Remembrance Sunday
10.30 am Family Eucharist with silence, and Sunday Club
2.30 pm   RBL Remembrance Service and Act of Remembrance
7.30 pm   Music for Remembrance

Wednesday 13 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 14 November at 7.30 pm
Tonight our singers will start rehearsals for Christmas music to be sung at our Carol Service on Sunday 15th December. Do come along if you would like to join us to learn traditional and choral carols. All voice parts welcome.

Saturday 16 November at 3 pm
KINGSLAND GOSPEL CHOIR sings at St Mary’s.
Tickets £6 pp from Wivenhoe Bookshop or on the door. Children under 12 free.
Raffle and Refreshments.

Sunday 17 November
8 am          Holy Communion
10.30 am  ‘In Loving Memory‘ service, and Sunday Club
6 pm          Taizé Service, Holy Ground

Wednesday 20 November, 10 am-12 noon
Floral Workshop. Christmas wreath making with professional florist Jenny Bennett.
£25 pp (of which £10 to general fundraising for St Mary’s). All materials and refreshments included. Limited places, booking deadline is 15 November.
Lights (optional) £5 can be ordered at time of booking with Tricia on 07870744383

Wednesday 20 November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Thursday 21 November at 7.30 pm
Bible Study Group meets at 39 Ernest Rd

Sunday 24 November Christ the King
10.30 am  Family Eucharist and Sunday Club
2.30 pm    Holy Baptism

Wednesday 27November at 7.07 pm
Midweek Reflection
15 minutes of quiet, music and prayer, open to all

Saturday 30 November at 2pm
St Nicholas arrives at Wivenhoe Quay and processes to St Mary’s where he will give a homily, talk to all the children and distribute sweets. All welcome.

Sunday 1 December
4 pm  Christingle Service